December 14th, 2017
 | Calgary, Alberta

Government MLA, MP, County

MLA Leela Sharon Aheer

Leela Sharon Aheer

Leela Sharon Aheer was elected as the Member of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta for Chestermere-Rocky View on May 5, 2015. She currently serves as a member of the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship. Mrs. Aheer has been a proud small-business owner since 1998. She has successfully operated a number of small businesses, each employing several people, including the Aheer Studio of Performance and Chestermere's WestCreek Auto Wash.

Mrs. Aheer studied political science at the University of Calgary for several years before obtaining a bachelor's degree in music from the University of Manitoba. She is a professional musician and is classically trained in all styles. She plays the flute and teaches voice, piano and guitar. Mrs. Aheer has won various awards at the Calgary Kiwanis music festival and has nine songs published to her credit.

With her group Minerva she collaborated on a CD entitled Follow Me, which received a national release in Canada. She is fluent French and also sings and instructs voice in French, Italian, German, Spanish, Punjabi, Hindi and Telugu. She and her students have won awards and scholarships for voice and musical theatre.

Mrs. Aheer is an active volunteer, especially in areas of music and the arts. She is known to lend her time and energy to more than 50 events per year and has received numerous accolades for her efforts, including the volunteer of the year award from the town of Chestermere in 2013. Mrs. Aheer is a dedicated advocate for individuals with special needs and regularly spends her time volunteering at hospitals and other care facilities.

Mrs. Aheer along with her family – husband, Malkeet, and two children, Akesh and Sehran – reside in Chestermere.

Legislature Offices

Legislature Office

5th Floor

9820 - 107 Street

Edmonton, AB

Canada T5K 1E7

Phone: 780.422.0315

Fax: 780.638.3506 


Constituency Offices

Constituency Office

215-175 Chestermere Station Way

Chestermere, AB

Canada T1X 0G1

Phone: 403.207.9889

Toll-Free: 1.866.843.4314

Fax: 403.216.2225

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


John Barlow, MP

BarlowJohn CPC

Constituency Office

109 4th Avenue South West (Main Office)

PO Box 5448

High River, AB  T1V 1M5

Telephone: 403-603-3665

Fax: 403-603-3669

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


House of Commons

Ottawa, Ontario

K1A 0A6

Telephone: 613-995-8471

Fax: 613-996-9770

Mail may be sent postage-free to any Member of Parliament.